Close this search box.
Magnitude 6.1 earthquake hits southeast of Davao Oriental (March 8, 2024 - PHIVOLCS photo)

Magnitude 6.0 earthquake hits southeast of Davao Oriental

by Carl Santos

A MAGNITUDE 6.0 earthquake struck southeast of Governor Generoso, Davao Oriental, on Friday afternoon, according to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS).

The tectonic earthquake, which occurred at 5:11 p.m., was located 135 kilometers southeast of Governor Generoso town and had a depth of focus of 143 km. 

Initially recorded at magnitude 6.1, the earthquake was felt in the following areas:

Intensity IV – Malungon, Sarangani; Sarangani and Don Marcelino, Davao Occidental; Davao City
Intensity III – City of Digos, Sta. Cruz and Matanao, Davao del Sur; City of Tagum, Davao del Norte; Nabunturan and Pantukan, Davao de Oro; Glan, Sarangani; Tupi and City of Koronadal, South Cotabato; Lutayan, Sultan Kudarat
Intensity II – Magsaysay, Davao del Sur; General Santos City; Malapatan, Alabel, and Kiamba, Sarangani; Tampakan, Banga, Polomolok, Tantangan, Surallah, and Santo Niño, South Cotabato
Intensity I – President Quirino, Columbio, Isulan, Lambayong, and Senator Ninoy Aquino, Sultan Kudarat; Lake Sebu and Norala, South Cotabato

Instrumental Intensities:

Intensity IV- Malungon, Sarangani; Don Marcelino, Davao Occidental
Intensity III- Glan and Alabel, Sarangani; Matanao and City of Digos, Davao del Sur; Tupi and City of Koronadal, South Cotabato; Nabunturan, Davao de Oro
Intensity II- Maasim, Malapatan, and Kiamba, Sarangani; Polomolok, Tampakan, Surallah, Banga, T’Boli, and Santo Niño, South Cotabato; Magpet and City of Kidapawan, Cotabato; Magsaysay, Davao del Sur; Davao City
Intensity I- Tantangan, Lake Sebu, and Norala, South Cotabato; Lebak, Columbio, President Quirino, and Isulan, Sultan Kudarat; President Roxas and M’Lang, Cotabato

Aftershocks may occur, PHIVOLCS said. 



We have the stories you’ll want to read.

RepublicAsia Newsletter