Close this search box.

PNVF Champions League to kick off on Sunday

by Bryan Gadingan

THE Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) held a press conference with the participating players and teams on Friday, February 2, 2024, at the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) in Manila.

Photo Courtesy: Ryan Baldemor | republicasia

It mostly centered on the forthcoming PNVF Champions League, which will begin its third season tomorrow, February 4, at the Rizal Memorial Coliseum in Manila.

“With a balanced cast made up of seasoned pro clubs, new-look squads and collegiate-based teams, a toss-up can be expected for the prestigious title,” said PNVF Secretary General Don Caringal of the season’s opening tournament.

The event promises to be a hotly contested battle, much like the previous two seasons, in which different squads emerged triumphant.

“‘Yung level of competition and how the games are conducted, we can offer the best officiating and organizing. That will help in the level of competition in the Champions League.”

“This is one of our premier events of the PNVF. For sure, it will be everybody’s ball game.

It will be competitive,” Caringal added, indicating what everyone might expect from the future league.

The volleyball marathon, which runs until February 17, will include five teams in the women’s division and eight in the men’s, divided into two groups. The women’s joust is scheduled from February 4 to 10, while the men’s dispute runs from February 11 to 17.

The new-look Chery Tiggo, Cignal, and Petro Gazz, along with valued additions from the defunct F2 Logistics, highlighted the PNVF Champions League lineup. 

Photo Courtesy: Ryan Baldemor | republicasia

“The goal is to be champions. Hindi kami nagpapakahirap at nagsasakripisyo sa training araw-araw para sa wala. Gusto namin maging champions sa PNVF,” said Aby Maraño, who is eager to join her new team.

Maraño will make his debut with Chery Tiggo, coached by Kungfu Reyes and featuring former F2 Logistics player Ara Galang, Premiere Volleyball League MVP Mylene Paat, and Eya Laure.

The three professional volleyball teams will be accompanied by the returning Philippine Army and collegiate champion St. Benilde in the five-team women’s division.

Meanwhile, Cignal HD, PGJC Philippine Nary, Savouge Spin Doctors, and Saint Benilde are all in Pool A. VNS Asereht Griffins, Iloilo D’Navigators, Philippine Air Force, and Philippine Army compete in Pool B of the men’s division.

Chery Tiggo and Cignal face off at 6:00 p.m. on Sunday, following a 3:30 p.m. matchup between Philippine Army and Petro Gazz. Saint Benilde kicks off its campaign against Petro Gazz on Monday.



We have the stories you’ll want to read.

RepublicAsia Newsletter