Close this search box.

Maria Clara and Ibarra, Daniel Padilla, Vice Ganda to be honored at 5th Gawad Lasallianeta ZEAL Awards

by Izel Abanilla

GMA show Maria Clara and Ibarra, and celebrities like Daniel Padilla, Marian Rivera and Vice Ganda will vie for recognition at the upcoming 5th Gawad Lasallianeta ZEAL Awards by the De La Salle Araneta University (DLSAU).

What is Gawad Lassalianeta

DLSAU has been recognizing the most outstanding media/public communicators and social media personalities in the country for the past years.

This year’s Gawad Lasallianeta coincides with the 77th founding anniversary of the institution.

To determine the nominees and recipients for this year’s various categories, a university-wide survey among all DLSAU administration staff, faculty members, parents, and students were conducted last November 2022. 

The awarding ceremony will be held on January 30, 2023 at 2:00 – 5:00 pm at the De La Salle Araneta University.

Green Zeal Awards

Kapuso breakout historical fantasy series “Maria Clara at Ibarra” gets its Green Zeal Awards for Excellence in “Bridging Boundaries through Culture and Arts.”

Meanwhile, Iskoolmates (PTV4) gets a nod for Empowering and Giving Voice to the Filipino Youth. 

Other Green Zeal Awards for Excellence recipients will also be recognized. Malabon Zoo and Strays Worth Saving Organization, an FB page for rescuing stray cats and dogs, will both compete under the Environmental Conservation and in Promoting Animal Welfare category. 

Three La Sallian media practitioners will be recognized for Green Zeal Awards for Excellence. Five finalists were named. They are:

  • Michelle Gumabao (DLSU 2013), volleyball player and Ms Universe Philippines 2nd runner up
  • Marian Rivera (DLSU- Dasmariñas), actress and women empowerment advocate
  • Jose Javier Reyes (DLSU-Manila), multi-awarded director and screenwriter, DLSU-College of St. Benilde AB Film Program chair
  • Dr. Willie Ong (DLSU Dasmariñas) – cardiologist, internist, Youtube vlogger
  • Jodi Sta Maria (DLSU-Dasmariñas) – multi-awarded actress

Meanwhile, here is the full list of the 5th Gawad Lasallianeta ZEAL awardees in different categories. 


  1. 24 ORAS (GMA 7) – Most Outstanding News Show
  2. Atom Araullo (State of the Nation) – Most Outstanding Male News Anchor
  3. Karen Davila (TV Patrol) – Most Outstanding Female News Anchor
  4. Jeff Canoy (ABS-CBN) – Most Outstanding Male News Correspondent
  5. Mariz Umali (GMA 7) – Most Outstanding Female News Correspondent
  6. I-Witness (GMA7) – Most Outstanding Documentary Show
  7. Atom Araullo (GMA 7) – Most Outstanding Male Documentarist
  8. Kara David (GMA 7) – Most Outstanding Female Documentarist
  9. Kapuso Mo Jessica Soho (GMA 7) – Most Outstanding MAGAZINE SHOW 
  10. Jessica Soho (KMJS) – Most Outstanding Magazine Show Host
  11. The Source with Pinky Web  – Most Outstanding Current Affairs Talk Show
  12. Pinky Web – Most Outstanding Current Affairs Talk Show Host
  13. Imbestigador (GMA 7) – Most Outstanding Public Affairs Show
  14. Noli De Castro (KBYN: Kaagapay ng Bayan) – Most Outstanding Public Affairs Show Host
  15. Unang Hirit (GMA 7) – Most Outstanding Morning Show
  16. Born to be Wild (GMA 7) – Most Outstanding Educational Show
  17. MANILA BULLETIN – Most Outstanding Digital Broadsheet
  18. Pilipino Star Ngayon – Most Outstanding Digital Tabloid
  19. TELERADYO – Most Outstanding Digital Radio Station
  20. Ted Failon and DJ Chacha  – Most Outstanding Digital Radio Broadcasters


  1. ABS-CBN – Most Outstanding Media Company
  2. Vice Ganda -Most Influential Multimedia Filipino Celebrity
  3. Kathryn Bernardo- Most Influential TV Filipino Celebrity
  4. Daniel Padilla (2 Good 2 Be True) – Most Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series
  5. Kathryn Bernardo (2 Good 2 Be True) – Most Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series
  6. Maria Clara at Ibarra (GMA 7) – Most Outstanding Teleserye
  7. Pepito Manaloto: Tuloy ang Kwento (GMA 7) – Most Outstanding Comedy Show
  8. Michael V. (Bubble Gang / Pepito Manaloto) – Most Outstanding Comedian 
  9. It’s Showtime! (ABS-CBN) – Most Outstanding Variety Show
  10. Vice Ganda (It’s Showtime/ Everybody Sing!)- Most Outstanding Entertainment Show Host
  11. Anne Curtis (It’s Showtime) – Most Outstanding Variety Show Host
  12. WISH 107.5 – Most Outstanding FM Radio Station
  13. Papa Dudut (Barangay LS 97.1)- Most Outstanding Male FM DJ
  14. DJ ChaCha (Radio 5)- Most Outstanding Female FM DJ
  15. Doll House – Most Outstanding Filipino Film 
  16. Baron Geisler (Doll House) – Most Outstanding Film Actor 
  17. Julia Barretto (Expensive Candy)- Most Outstanding Film Actress 
  18. Ben and Ben – Most Outstanding OPM Artists 


  1. BEAR BRAND: May Tibay Matuto sa Buhay (NESTLE) – Most Outstanding Advocacy Campaign 
  2. Jollibee Mother’s Day Special: Hinga- Most Outstanding Brand Advertisement 
  3. Kathryn Bernardo- Most Outstanding Brand Endorser


  1. Vice Ganda- Most Outstanding Social Media Personality
  2. Kyle Jennerman (Kulas of Becoming Filipino)- Most Outstanding Foreign Blogger in the Philippines
  3. Kryz Uy – Most Outstanding Filipino Blogger
  4. Wil Dasovich – Most Outstanding Foreign Vlogger in the Philippines
  5. Team Payaman- Most Outstanding Filipino Vloggers
  6. Ninong Ry- Most Outstanding Social Media Content Creator
  7. ABS-CBN Entertainment- Most Outstanding Facebook Page
  8. ABS-CBN Entertainment- Most Outstanding YouTube Channel
  9. Vice Ganda- Most Outstanding Twitter Influencer
  10. Heart Evangelista- Most Outstanding Instagram Feed
  11. Niana Guerrero – Most Outstanding TIKTOK Content Creator
  12. Skypodcast- Most Outstanding Podcast


      We have the stories you’ll want to read.

      RepublicAsia Newsletter